Mikel, Iheanacho, Eto’o, 27 others for CAF Awards

Mikel Obi, team captain

Mikel Obi, team captain

The Confederation of African Football, CAF, has shortlisted three Super Eagles players, John Obi Mikel, Kelechi Iheanacho and Ahmed Musa, Cameroonian star, Samuel Eto’o and 26 others for this year’s CAF African Player of the Year Award.

The three Nigerian players have been outstanding for the clubs this season, with Iheanacho being in the first team of Manchester City and has scored couple of goals. The City star has been outstanding for the Super Eagles as he scored in the 2-1 away win at Zambia in the 2018 World Cup qualifying match.

Mikel, though not enjoying much of club football at the moment with Chelsea, is doing well in the green and white colours of Nigeria.

He led the Nigeria Under-23s to a bronze medal finish at the Summer Olympics in Brazil and he is leading the country’s charge for a place in Russia 2018.

Musa was huge in CSKA Moscow’s title win in Russia before he made a big-money move to English Premier League where he currently stars for the reigning champions, Leicester City.

Behold the full list of 30 players who made the shortlist:

1.Ahmed Musa (Nigeria & Leicester City)
2.Andre Ayew (Ghana & West Ham)
3.Aymen Abdennour Tunisia & Valencia)
4.Benjamin Mounkandjo (Cameroon & Lorient)
5.Cedric Bakambu (DR Congo & Villareal)
6.Dennis Onyango (Uganda & Mamelodi Sundowns)
7.El Arabi Hillel Soudani (Algeria & Dinamo Zagreb)
8.Eric Bailly (Cote d’Ivoire & Manchester United)
9.Hakim Ziyech (Morocco & Ajax)
10.Islam Slimani (Algeria & Leicester City)
11.Itumeleng Khune (South Africa & Kaizer Chiefs)
12.John Mikel Obi (Nigeria & Chelsea)
13.Kalidou Koulibaly (Senegal & Napoli)
14.Keegan Dolly (South Africa & Mamelodi Sundowns)
15.Kelechi Iheanacho (Nigeria & Manchester City)
16.Khama Billiat (Zimbabwe & Mamelodi Sundowns)
17.Mbwana Samatta (Tanzania & Genk)
18.Mehdi Benatia (Morocco & Juventus)
19.Mohamed El Neny (Egypt & Arsenal)
20.Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Roma)
21.Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon & Dortmund)
22.Riyad Mahrez (Algeria & Leicester City)
23.Sadio Mane (Senegal & Liverpool)
24.Samuel Eto’o (Cameroon & Antalyaspor)
25.Serge Aurier (Cote d’Ivoire & PSG)
26.Victor Wanyama (Kenya & Tottenham)
27.Wahbi Khazri (Tunisia & Sunderland)
28.William Jebor (Liberia & Wydad Athletic Club)
29.Yannick Bolasie (DR Congo & Everton)
30.Yao Kouasi Gervais ‘Gervinho’ (Cote d’Ivoire & Hebei Fortune)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.